At Last, A Functional Workshop!

Growing up in Winston-Salem, my father had a great workshop. He had built the building from various barns and chicken houses, assembling them all together into a building that had basically one big room for tools and a couple of other areas for storage.  As a kid, I spent a lot of time in that workshop, making things, taking things apart, and fixing things. I learned to use saws and drills, lathes and joiners, and many hand tools. Later, while still living in Winston, I would manage to get over to the shop occasionally, but spent less and less time there over the years. At some point, the electricity serving the building failed, and it needed to have a new wire run from the house. My brother now owns the house and the shop, and it still has many of the tools my father showed me how to use many years ago. Meanwhile, my tools in Winston-Salem resided in an upstairs bedroom of the house I was renovating – an arrangement which made for a terrible workshop. Anything I built had to go around corners and down stairs to get out of the house.

When I first moved to Raleigh, I lived in an apartment. There was no room for tools at all. When I finally got serious about finding a place to buy in the Triangle, I was hoping to find a home with a shop, or at least a decent garage. The townhome I ended up with has a very nice oversize detached two car garage. Honestly, that is one of the reasons I wanted this house. Finally, I could bring some of my tools down from Winston, such as a table saw, router table, miter saw, etc. And, at last, I have a place for other tools, such as a surface planer and band saw. The photo above shows how the garage looks when converted to work shop. Everything is on wheels, so it can roll back against the walls and cars can park inside between projects.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

