Slant Front Desk – 2012

Slant Front Desk

When I began this blog, the project I had just completed was this slant front secretary desk. The design is based on plans I got from Rockler, but instead of the plywood they specified, I used solid cherry and mahogany. I redesigned the interior partitioning, and made a few other modifications.

When I was a kid, my aunt had a slant front desk with supports that deployed when it opened. I thought it was a really cool trick, and I still do! I looked for several years for an antique slant front desk, but never found one that I both liked and could afford. When I thought of making one, I must have looked at 200 photos of different designs. I am happy with what I came up with.

The interior partitioning.

Reproduction Hardware from Horton Brasses

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

