A New Plane for Christmas.

 

Lie Nielsen 4 1/2 Smoothing Plane

Lie Nielsen 4 1/2 Smoothing Plane

No, not an airplane. But a very nice plane just the same. With gift cards from Christmas (and also saved from my birthday) I got a Lie Nielsen 4 1/2 smoothing plane. This is a very heavy, well-made tool. Right out of the box it was ready to go to work. I removed the blade and using my Japanese waterstones, lapped the back of the iron to a smooth, flat finish. With the help of my Veritas honing guide, I refined the surface on the blade face, finishing up with a 5 degree micro bevel at the cutting edge. Front and back were polished with an 8000 waterstone to a near mirror finish.

Once it was all set up and adjusted, I took some shavings from a block of cherry. The shavings came off thinner than paper, and the surface of the wood was like glass.

This plane is beautifully made and a pleasure to use. I look forward to getting some practice with it on upcoming projects.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

