Gavel and Block

It has been years since I have turned anything on a lathe, but when I got a request to make a gavel I thought I would give it a try. I borrowed a friend’s mini-lathe, with the understanding that I would sharpen his set of turning tools in exchange. I glued up some stuff from my scrap box —  an assortment of white oak, padouk, katata and ash.

I found out something about the block, or “sound block,” as it is sometimes called. By hollowing out underneath, you can make the sound much louder.

The finish is just a light Danish oil treatment, followed by a couple coats of Renaissance Wax.

Here is the result:

Gavel and Block

Gavel and Block

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

