A New Steamer Trunk

Steamer Trunk

Steamer Trunk

I really like the look of a steamer trunk — or sometimes I have heard it called a camel back trunk because of the rounded top. I built one for a friend’s beach house, and have just completed this second one. The dimensions of this new trunk are slightly smaller than the first one I built, and I think I like this size better. Overall, the piece is 30 in. x 17 in. x 16 in. tall. It is built of quartersawn white oak, with bright brass plated hardware. The dark wood accents are walnut.

Open View

Open View

The trunk is finished inside with shellac. On the outside, I started with a coat of Danish Oil, followed with several coats of an oil and urethane mixture.

Recently, I purchased some reclaimed wormy chestnut taken from an old barn. I am thinking of duplicating this piece from some of that chestnut, perhaps with antique brass hardware.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

