Woodworking Class in Maine

IMG_0381

Flat Rate boxes

Next month, I will travel to Rockport, Maine for a class in box-making. I have made quite a few boxes in my workshop over the years, but this class is about making puzzle boxes, with hidden “combinations” to unlock various compartments. It should be a lot of fun!

In preparation for the class, I have been having a little fun by building a few boxes to hold some of the hand tools I will be taking with me. Two boxes will be sent by USPS, so I designed them to fit into a large size flat rate Postal Service box. Others will be in my checked baggage. I will be taking/sending a couple of hand planes, saws, chisels, scrapers, measuring and marking stuff, and the necessary stuff to keep edges sharp.

IMG_0384

Plane Boxes

One design criteria was to fit the USPS box. Another was that everything had to be made from stuff I had on hand. In the process, I used oak, sycamore, cherry, and chestnut. The sharpening box has a top made from scrap Formica and teak, which holds the sharpening stones.

 

 

This will be my very first trip to Maine. Its doubtful that I will have much time to see the area, but I hope to be able to play tourist for a little while between classes. At the very least, a trip to Lie Nielsen Toolworks  will be on the agenda.

IMG_0385

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Woodworking Class in Maine

  1. Welcome to Maine a few days early! I do hope you have time to explore, Rockland has a lot going on, good restaurants, fabulous art museum., fun shops. I hope you have a wonderful time and learn lots of fun skills.

    • wilburton

      Thank you for the welcome. It does look like a great place to visit. And as a bonus I am looking forward to escaping the Carolina heat and humidity!

      • Well, I hope we can accommodate that! It has been pretty darned hot and humid here by Maine standards this summer. But I have had other visitors from the south and my idea of putridly hot and humid is their idea of a pretty good day. Hope it holds for you, too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

